Our Leadership

Header Image

As a nonprofit organization, St. James Academy is governed by a Board of Trustees responsible for setting the school policies and overseeing its management, subject to the supervision of the Vestry of St. James Church. The Board’s officers and members are chosen from a list of nominees who represent the Academy, the Parish, and the entire community. The Board meets five times per year to consider recommendations from its committees. The Board works closely with the school’s Administrative Leaders to ensure St. James Academy remains a thriving school community for years to come.

Board of Trustees
Charlotte Riggs

Head of School

Amy Wagner
Chris Wooten


David Eiswert

Vice President

Denise Shaffer


Don Greenawalt

Junior Warden

Diane Weglein
Edward Kohls


Jalene Spain Thomas
Liz Hertneck Stier
Suzanne Fischer-Huettner
The Rev. Joseph Cochran


Thomas Moore (’79)


Trevor Lewis, Jr.


William Berndt


Sean Isaac
Christine Reed
Diana Bessling

Patrons President

Doug Alexander
Student Council Officers

Middle School students have the opportunity to make an impact by serving as student leaders. The Student Leadership Council is composed of five self-nominated and peer-elected officers responsible for organizing fundraisers, Middle School dances, and fulfilling other leadership duties at the school.

2022 Officers:

  • Brody Gray
  • Max Gray
  • Jack Lochte
  • Jillian Nicholson
  • Ally Goetz

The Patrons’ Association

We welcome all parents, guardians, and supporters of our students to become active members of The Patrons’ Association. Throughout the school year, the Patrons’ Association sponsors a variety of inclusive events designed to cultivate a sense of community.

Patrons’ Association Board:

  • Diana Bessling, President
  • Gracie Hosford, Vice President
  • Jill Rose, Treasurer
  • Tracey Long, Secretary, Lower School Coordinator
  • Candace Wolf, Middle School Coordinator

SJA Patron's Association